What happened june seventeenth nineteen ninety four?

On 17 June 1994, O.J. Simpson, the Heisman Trophy winner turned Pro Football Hall of Famer turned actor turned broadcaster, was the main suspect of the murder of ex-wife Nicole Brown Simpson and waiter Ronald Goldman. Simpson was allowed to turn himself in by 11am but he failed to do so.