How do you tame a chicken in minecraft?

Equip wheat seeds in your hotbar and then approach a chicken. It will start to follow you. Lure the chicken into a closed space, either the inside of your house or a chicken pen that you build outside. Once the chicken is inside the enclosure, close it off with a door or a gate.