How do you tame a chicken in minecraft?

First, you'll need some wheat seeds, which you get by harvesting grass. Next, equip the seeds in your hotbar and then approach a chicken. Lure the chicken into a closed space. Once the chicken is inside the enclosure, close it off, and you now have a pet chicken!