What is a once removed cousin?

A cousin who is once removed is a generation above or below you. For example, your dad's first cousin, is your first cousin, but she is once removed because there is a generation between you and her. Another example of a cousin once removed would be the child of your first cousin

---

The term "removed" refers to the number of generations separating the cousins themselves. So your first cousin once removed is the child (or parent) of your first cousin.