Why is herobrine called herobrine?

Herobrine is a rumored Hostile Mob found in Minecraft. He is the center of endless speculation and Creepypasta, producing explanations of his origins such as a ghost, Notch's dead brother, revenge carried out by a fired Mojang employee, and a slew of others.