Are fluid ounces and solid ounces the same?

Fluid ounces measure volume and regular ounces measure weight. While one fluid ounce of water weighs very close to one ounce, that's not true for all liquids. For example, 1 fluid ounce of olive oil weighs less than 1 ounce, while 1 fluid ounce of molasses weighs more.