Why do fox smell?

Foxes contain a scent/musk gland that gives off a potent musky odor. This is called the violet gland, which is located at the base of the tail and used for intra-species signalling and scent marking. Foxes release a musk and especially unpleasant smell from this gland when startled or alarmed.