What's the difference between uptown and downtown?

"Uptown" can refer to a residential area just as "downtown" can refer to a business district. In the case of a town or city that has a "downtown" area named because it is the lower area of the city, then "uptown" would simply be the higher area. "Uptown" can also be used to mean fancy or fashionable