When did berlin become the capital of germany?

East germany claimed East Berlin as it’s capitol, even though berlin as a whole was still legally occupied territory, and would remain so for 45 years. In 1990, with the reunification of Germany, berlin was also reunified and became the capitol of the enlarged federal republic of Germany