When was the first automobile?

Nicholas-Joseph Cugnot invented the first automobile in 1769. It was powered by steam. It was probably Samuel Brown who invented the first petroleum-powered car in 1826, but Carl Benz was the first to sell automobiles commercially -- starting in 1887.