Who was the first rap artist?

Rap and hip hop grew out of a sub culture in New York in the seventies. Who was first is not possible to tell but The Sugarhill Gang's 1979 song "Rapper's Delight" is widely regarded to be the first hip hop record to gain widespread popularity in the mainstream.