How did ranch dressing get it's name?

Ranch dressing was invented by Steve Henson in 1949 while he and his wife lived in Alaska. When they later moved to California, they opened a dude ranch called Hidden Valley Ranch. The dressing he invented in Alaska was a house specialty. Guests were served the ranch dressing when they visited.