Are shrimp shells edible?

It is the most plentiful organic fiber in the world after wood. It used to be believed that humans could not digest shrimp tails but studies have shown that human gastric juice contains the enzyme chitinase which can degrade chitin. The chitinase breaks down the chitin, making it safe to eat.