Is the letter z. being removed?

Every few years, a rumor spreads that the English Language Central Commission (ELCC) is removing Z from the alphabet by a certain date. It is an on-going prank that has gone on for years. The ELCC doesn't exist. Which means Z is not getting removed from the English language