What's the difference between a townhouse and a condo?

Townhouses, are individual houses that are placed side-by-side, where one or two walls of each house are shared between adjacent homes. Condos generally have higher H.O.A fees and are smaller, while townhouses have lower H.O.A fees and are built with more square footage.