What is a nuclear clock?

There are three types. They all rely upon a radio source that is tuned to the oscillation frequency of a nuclear material. When the frequency of the transmitter is correct, the material will resonate and therefore time can be measured from the radio frequency. Feedback loop keep the frequency valid.