What was the pacific theater in world war two?

The Pacific Ocean theater, during World War II, was a major theater of the war between the Allies and the Empire of Japan. ... It officially came into existence on March 30, 1942, when US Admiral Chester Nimitz was appointed Supreme Allied Commander Pacific Ocean Areas.