Why is new york nickname the big apple?

According to Wikipedia, the big apple was a reference to the racing courses and was popularized in the 1920s and then again in the 1970s. It was first popularized in the 1920s by John J. Fitz Gerald , a sports writer for the New York Morning Telegraph .