How do they get the lactose out of milk?

Lactose is broken down into galactose and glucose by an enzyme called beta-galactosidase. Lack of this enzyme in adults results in Lactose intolerance. Pretreatment of the milk with this enzyme is one technique to remove Lactose from milk.