Is gold a rock or a mineral?

Gold isn't a mineral, but metallic gold similar to that used in jewelry when it occurs naturally in the form of nuggets and flecks is a mineral, commonly known as “native gold”. A mineral is defined as a naturally occurring, inorganic solid with a defined chemical composition and a crystalline form.