What are fibers?

Dietary fiber or roughage is the portion of plant-derived food that cannot be completely broken down by human digestive enzymes. Dietary fibers can be grouped generally by their solubility, viscosity, and fermentability, which affect how fibers are processed in the body. Wikipedia