What country was fiddler on the roof?

"Fiddler on the Roof" was set in the early 1900s in the village of Anatevka, in the Pale of Settlement in imperial Russia, an area which today covers parts of 8 countries: Belarus, Lithuania, Moldova, Ukraine, Poland, Latvia, Romania and Russia