What's the substitute for beef?

According to Canada Living: There are 5 great alternatives: 1) Mushrooms. Mushrooms have a meaty texture and umami-rich flavour. ... 2) Tofu. Tofu is a kitchen chameleon; it has a mild taste that easily takes on whichever flavour you want. 3) Lentils. 4) Grains. 5) Ground chicken, turkey and pork.