Can you use distilled water in a fish tank?

Fish tanks should not be filled with distilled water because the minerals are removed from it. Minerals such as iron and calcium help the fish thrive. In addition, because fish have semi-permeable membranes, fish can experience deadly trauma in pure, distilled water.