Why is it called the big ten?

There were originally ten teams. Illinois Indiana Iowa Minnesota Wisconsin Michigan Indiana Purdue Northwestern Chicago After Chicago left the conference, it was replaced with Michigan State. Penn State, Nebraska, Rutgers, and Maryland all joined much more recently, but the name remains.