What's zero made of?

Zero is a place holder in modern number systems. For example, 402 means 4 groups of 100, no or zero groups of 10, and 2 ones. The place holder zero allows numbers to infinity with a finite number of symbols. Ancient Egyptians had to creat new symbols as numbers became larger.