Why does denmark own greenland?

In 1979, Denmark granted home rule to Greenland, and in 2008, Greenlanders voted in favor of the Self-Government Act, which transferred power from the Danish government to the local Greenlandic government. Under the new structure, in effect since 21 June 2009