How is cereal made?

Boxed cereals are made from grain paste that may be processed to the extent that only grain starch remains. Chemicals and other ingredients are added to the mixture that is cooked then forced through dies at elevated causing the mixture to flash dry. Pressurized air is used to puff cereal.