Why was the world trade center attacked?

Al-Qaeda is an Islamist extremist terrorist network. They hoped that attacking symbols of American power, would create fear in the USA and weaken the United States’ standing in the world. It was hoped this would also increase support, for their political and religious goals in the Middle East.