Why do they call marines dental dogs?

Actually called DEVIL Dogs according to history-military.fandom.com, United States Marine Corps legend, the phrase was used by German soldiers to describe U.S. Marines who fought in the Battle of Belleau Wood in 1918. The Marines fought with such ferocity that they were likened to "Dogs from Hell."