How the us got involved in the soviet qfghan war?

The United States sent advisors over to train the Mujadeen in Afghanistan to successfully repel the Soviet Union. The Soviet’s were interested in Afghanistans Mineral resources. The Soviets left land mines behind. This is where Osama Bin Laden gained his first combat leadership experience.