Why do bulls charge at red flags?

They don't. Bulls, like all other cattle, are colorblind to red. It is the waving of the flag that irritates the bull; a bull would charge at any waving flag, regardless of its color. Bullfighters, use a red cape, called a muleta, mostly because it looks flashy to the audience.