What's the difference between hoisin sauce and teriyaki sauce?

Hoisin sauce is based on fermented soybean paste, much thicker and saltier compared to its counterpart. Teriyaki sauce only has a small component of soy sauce and tends to be sweeter.

---

Both are dark and used as glazes, but Hoisin sauce originated in China. Its base is fermented soybean paste, and it is saltier and spicier than teriyaki. Teriyaki sauce originated in Hawaii. It's base is soy sauce, and its other main ingredient is sugar, making it sweeter than Hoisin.