How are diamonds created?

High Pressure-High Temperature artificially grown diamonds begin as a small diamond seed that is placed into carbon. The seed is then exposed to temperatures of 1500 degrees Celsius and pressurized to 1.5 million pounds per square inch. The carbon melts and forms a diamond around the starter seed.