What is a bowel rog?

Balrogs are fictional creatures in J. R. R. Tolkien's Middle-earth legendarium. They first appeared in print in his novel The Lord of the Rings, where the Fellowship of the Ring encounter one known as Durin's Bane in the Mines of Moria