Who was in charge of american troops during world war i?

Pershing, in full John Joseph Pershing, nickname Black Jack, (born September 13, 1860, Laclede, Missouri, U.S.—died July 15, 1948, Washington, D.C.), U.S. Army general who commanded the American Expeditionary Force (AEF) in Europe during World War I