Where are egg rolls from?

They are an Americanized version of the spring roll, which originated in China. They are much larger than the spring roll, and are made of thin pancake-like wrappers consisting of eggs and flour, and are deep fat fried. Spring rolls have wrappers made of rice flour and water and are not fried.