What was the battle of thermopylae?

The Battle of Thermopylae was fought in 480BC, between forces of Persian emperor Xerxes, and Greeks led by King Leonidas of Sparta. The Greek troops famously held a narrow pass against a much larger Persian army for 3 days, until 300 Spartans and several hundred allies fought a last stand.