What is the difference between brown mustard and dijon?

Both are made from brown mustard seeds. Dijon mustard seeds are soaked in white wine or a similar liquid; spicy brown mustard seeds are soaked in vinegar. Dijon mustard is great for adding to marinades or sauces, while spicy brown mustard fits seamlessly with large, meat-filled sandwiches.