How often should you water a rose bush?

Soil, temperature, and surrounding plants affect how much water a rose needs. In temperate climates, weekly watering of two inches (4 to 5 gallons) is usually enough. If the soil is sandy or the garden is hot, dry, or windy, more frequent watering may be needed.