How well do dogs see?

Dogs have rod-dominated retinas that allow them to see well in the dark. With superior night vision, dogs have better motion visibility than humans have. However, because their retinas' contain only about one-tenth the concentration of cones (that humans have), dogs do not see colors as humans do.