What is a turkey?

A large mainly domesticated game bird native to North America, having a bald head and (in the male) red wattles. It is prized as food, especially on festive occasions such as Thanksgiving and Christmas. It is also a country comprising the whole of the Anatolian peninsula in Western Asia.