What is the rainbow start?

From a "remember the colors" viewpoint: R for ROYGBIV (Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, Violet). If you see a rainbow in the sky, the outermost color is in the red spectrum, innermost in blue/indigo/violet. If there is a double rainbow, the secondary/fainter one is reversed in color order!