How does trees go grow?

Trees grow taller when new cells are produced at the tips of twigs, causing the twigs to grow longer. Tree trunks and branches grow thicker as new cells are added beneath the bark. These cells make up vessels, called xylem and phloem, that carry water and food throughout the tree.