What is the missouri compromise of eighteen twenty?

The Missouri Compromise admitted Maine to the United States as a free state, along with Missouri as a slave state, to maintain the balance of power between North and South in the United States Senate. As part of the compromise, slavery was prohibited north of the 36°30′ parallel, excluding Missouri.