What makes cats scared?

Cats are instinctively cautious or fearful for self-preservation. Common fears include: new people, new additions to the family like a new pet or baby, going someplace new like the vet, loud noises or appliances, things placed nearby when eating and thereby vulnerable, and moving to a new home.