How deep do tomato plant roots grow?

The root system of a tomato plant might extend to as much as 2 feet deep, but the main portion of the root system lies in the first 12 inches under the soil. Because the roots lie close to the surface, it is important to dig carefully around tomato plants so you don't damage the roots.