Are pepperoncini and banana peppers the same thing?

Pepperoncini and banana peppers are not the same thing. Pepperoncini are a type of small, mild chili pepper that is commonly used in Italian and Greek cuisine. Banana peppers, on the other hand, are a type of sweet pepper that is named for its curved, banana-like shape.