Who invented the towel?

The invention of the towel is commonly associated with the city of Bursa, Turkey, in the 17th century. These Turkish towels began as a flat, woven piece of cotton or linen called a pestamel, often hand-embroidered.

---

Most historians give Turkey, and specifically its city of Bursa, the credit for creating the first bath towels in the 1600s