Why did the united states invade vietnam?

A US National Security Agency historical study was declassified in 2005 which stated that the Gulf of Tonkin incident, which is commonly cited as the reason for US involvement in Vietnam, never happened. The US entered the Vietnam conflict based on false intelligence or for undisclosed reasons.