What's the history of playdough?

The product was first manufactured in Cincinnati,Ohio, United States, as a wallpaper cleaner in the 1930s.The product was reworked and marketed to Cincinnati schools in the mid-1950s.Play-Doh was demonstrated at an educational convention in 1956 and prominent department stores opened retail accounts